2016 - IAPA shortlist announced


IAPA shortlist announced
28 January

The shortlist for this year’s International Awards for Powered Access (IAPAs) has been revealed, following the judges’ meeting on 28 January in Basel, Switzerland.
The winners will be announced at the dinner and awards ceremony on 17 March 2016 in Madrid, Spain.
Jointly organised by Access International and IPAF, the IAPAs celebrate best practice and excellence in the powered access industry.
More than 100 entries across 13 award categories were received for the IAPAs 2016.

“There was a great range of entries from around the world,” said Euan Youdale, editor of Access International, and non-voting chairman of the judges. “The judges invested considerable time marking all the entries, and discussing and evaluating the merits of the submissions. It was a productive and enjoyable meeting, and we thank the judges for all their efforts.”

The IAPAs take place on the same day as the IPAF Summit and regularly attract audiences of more than 450 each year. Make sure you are part of it by booking your place at www.iapa-summit.info

IAPA judging panel 2016: Shawn Ong, COO, Galmon; Andy Studdert, IPAF president, and chairman & CEO, NES Rentals; Ivan Papell, managing director & owner, Liftisa; Mark Atkinson, health & safety manager, Clugston Construction; NON-VOTING chairman, Euan Youdale, editor, Access International

IAPAs 2016 shortlist

IAPA Innovative Technology Prize

  • France Elevateur, France
  • Holland Lift, Netherlands
  • Nationwide Platforms, UK

Powered Access Pioneer

  • Genie, USA
  • Haulotte, France
  • Power Towers, UK
  • Shanghai Horizon Equipment & Engineering, China
  • Time International, Denmark

Contribution to Safe Working at Height

  • AFI, UK
  • Elev8, UK
  • Mills Rental, Brazil
  • Philip Godding/JLG, UK
  • Ruthmann, Germany

IPAF Training Centre of the Year

  • DK Rental, Belgium
  • Maltech, Switzerland
  • Manlift Middle East, UAE

IPAF Instructor of the Year

  • Ezio Cantamessa, Italy
  • Alexander de Oliveira Celestino, Brazil
  • Phil Drayton, UK
  • José Ramón Etxebarria Urrutia, Spain
  • Pete Hazell, UK
  • Vitor Ribeiro, Portugal

Product of the Year – Mast climbing work platforms/hoists

  • Encomat, Spain, for the Smartclimber
  • Safi, Italy, for the Vision MC 2500 KG
  • Scanclimber, Finland, for the Mast Climber Top Crane (MCTC)
  • XL Group, France, for the XMH multimast platform

Product of the Year – Self-propelled above 20ft/6.1m

  • Almac, Italy, for the BIBI 850-BL
  • Dinolift, Finland, for the DINO 220XSE
  • Hinowa, Italy, for the Lightlift 26.14 Performance IIIS lithium-ion
  • Holland Lift, Netherlands, for the HL-330 E14 4WDS/N

Product of the Year – Self-propelled below 20ft/6.1m

  • Faraone, Italy, for the Elevah 51
  • Haulotte, France, for the STAR 6

Product of the Year – Vehicle/trailer mounted

  • France Elevateur, France, for the 091Fe
  • GSR, Italy, for the B200PX
  • Time Versalift, Denmark, for the LAT-38-135-H

Access Rental Company of the Year

  • AFI, UK
  • Industrial Access, Romania
  • Nationwide Platforms, UK
  • Riwal, Netherlands

Project of the Year

  • Genie, Netherlands, for the construction of a roller coaster at Hansa Park in Germany
  • Hydro Mobile, Canada, for the new FAA Control Tower at Tucson Airport, Arizona, USA.
  • Nationwide Platforms, UK, for the Savannah Project, Zoological Society of London (ZSL)
  • XL Group, France, for the MLC Centre in Sydney, Australia

Access Photo of the Year

Winner will be announced at the awards ceremony

IPAF/Access International Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner will be announced at the awards ceremony

The independent and impartial judges made their decisions based on the merit of each entry and are excluded from entering their company for any awards. The judges thank all those who took part and would like to encourage everyone in the industry to consider entering again for the awards in 2017.

The judging panel:

  • Mark Atkinson, Health & Safety manager, Clugston Construction, UK
  • Shawn Ong, COO, Galmon, Singapore
  • Ivan Papell, managing director & owner, Liftisa, Spain
  • Martin Vögtli, CEO, SkyAccess, Switzerland
  • Andy Studdert, IPAF president, and chairman and CEO, NES Rentals, USA
  • Non-voting chairman of the judges: Euan Youdale, editor, Access International

For more information click here